About Hogenji Temple

Hogenji Temple


The temple was founded in July 1596.
Hogenbo Nikka Shonin(法源坊日華上人)built the temple and Myokaku Ritsushi Nissei Shonin(妙覚律師日成上人) was the first master.

In the middle of the Meiji period (1868-1912), the building was destroyed by fire but the same year, the main hall was reconstructed.

Aiming to be a temple open to everyone in the community as a stage for "learning" and "experience" that enriches our lives.

"Temple Morning," where people can start their day with morning service, cleaning is held twice a month.


The topmost section contains a pagoda depicting Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo(南無妙法蓮華経), with Shakyamuni Nyorai(釈迦如来) and Taho-Nyorai(多宝如来) enshrined on either side, surrounded by Bodhisattvas and other heavenly deities, representing the teachings of the Lotus Sutra.

Kishimojin 鬼子母神

Kishimojin is a deity that protects those who believe in the teachings of Buddha and is also a deity of safe delivery and child rearing. Nichiren Shu enshrines Kishimojin, the guardian deity of Buddhism, as the principal object of prayer.

Sei Kannon Bosatsu 聖観世音菩薩

This bodhisattva manifests the compassion of the Buddha and offers a helping hand in response to people's calls for salvation.

Yoshida School, the predecessor of the local Yutaka Elementary School, was opened in 1871 in the main building of Hogenji Temple as a temporary school building.

To commemorate the 100th anniversary of Yutaka Elementary School, a monument was erected with the inscription "The Birthplace of Yutaka Education" by Mr. Toshiki Kaifu, Minister of Education at the time.